skip to content

Advisory Board

The Faculty of Management, Economics and Social Sciences at the University of Cologne receives external guidance and support from its Advisory Board (AB). The experience and expertise of our AB members reflect our aspirations, our connectivity to the industry and our desire to provide students with an inspiring and world class learning experience. Our AB members are experienced across industry sectors, international markets and functional disciplines.

Members of the Advisory Board

Prof. Dr. Christoph Badelt
Director of the Austrian Institute of Economic Research (WIF)

Werner Baumann
Chairman of the Board of Management (CEO) of Bayer AG

Uwe Berghaus
Member of the Board of Managing Directors of DZ BANK AG Deutsche Zentral-
Genossenschaftsbank, Frankfurt

Prof. Dr. Thomas Bieger
Professor of Management and President, University of St. Gallen

Dr. Daniela Büchel
Divisional Director Retail Germany - Department HR / Sustainability

Prof. Dr. Werner Görg
Chairman of the Supervisory Board at Gothaer

Prof. Dr. Zeynep Gürhan-Canli
Acting President and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Koç University, Istanbul

Gunnar Herrmann
Chief Executive Officer of Ford Werke GmbH

Dr. Werner Hoyer
President and Chairman of the Board of Directors of the European Investment Bank

Prof. Dr. Kothandaraman Kumar
Professor and Chairperson (Academic Programmes)
N.S. Raghavan Centre for Entrepreneurial Learning
Indian Institute of Management Bangalore

Tina Müller
CEO of Douglas GmbH

Carsten Pillath
Director-General in the General Secretariat of the Council of the European Union

Michael Pontzen
Chief Financial Officer of LANXESS AG

Ralf Quick
Managing Director at General Reinsurance AG

Dr. Dieter Steinkamp
Chief Executive Officer of RheinEnergie AG

Dr. Frank Sänger
Partner & Head of Cologne Office at McKinsey & Company, Inc.

Former members of the Advisory Board

  • Adalbert Bader (former Chief Financial Officer at GenRe AG)
  • Dr. Bernhard Düttmann (former Chief Financial Officer at Lanxess AG)
  • Wolfgang Kirsch, (Chief Executive Officer of DZ BANK AG Deutsche Zentral-Genossenschaftsbank, Frankfurt)
  • Bernhard Mattes (former Chief Executive Officer of Ford Werke GmbH; Vice President of Ford Customer Service Division)
  • Dr. Rainier van Rössel (Labor Relations Director & Member of the Board of Management of LANXESS AG)
  • Uwe Schöneberg (former member of the Board of Management at RheinEnergie AG) 
  • Prof. Dr. Sweder van Wijnbergen (Advisor Executive Board Dutch Central Bank (DNB); Professor of Economics, University of Amsterdam)