skip to content

Welcome at the WiSo Faculty Prof. Dr Anna Bindler

On Monday, May 25, 2020, Anna Bindler started as Professor of the Faculty of Management, Economics and Social Sciences of the University of Cologne.

Due to the corona pandemic, Professor Dr Anna Bindler had to postpone her start in Cologne almost until the middle of the term. Nevertheless the future colleagues welcomed her warmly. WiSo Professor Andreas Schabert, spokesperson of the ECONtribute Cluster of Excellence: Markets & Public Policy, put it in a nutshell: "Anna Bindler is a great asset to both the University of Cologne and the cluster. Despite the pandemic circumstances, we wish her a successful start in Cologne."

On Monday, Anna Bindler received her certificate of appointment - in compliance with the hygiene regulations - from the hands of Professor Dr Bettina Rockenbach, Vice Rector for Research and Innovation at the University of Cologne and holder of the WiSo Faculty's Chair for Experimental Economic and Behavioral Research. WiSo dean Ulrich Thonemann welcomed Anna Bindler in virtual space at the Faculty.

Professor Bindler's research focuses on applied microeconomics, labour economics, economics of crime, and law and economics. Specifically, she is concerned with questions such as how crime affects the labour market situations and living conditions of its victims or factors that shape decisions made within criminal justice systems.

With her new position, Anna Bindler returns to her roots in the Rhineland: from 2005 to 2010 she studied Economics at the University of Bonn. She completed her PhD at University College London. Before her appointment to the WiSo Faculty she was employed as Assistant Professor in Economics at the University of Gothenburg (Göteborgs Universitet). "I am very much looking forward to my new tasks - both at the Cluster of Excellence and the University of Cologne. I am excited to be part of the Cluster and its ambitious team", Explains WiSo Professor Anna Bindler. We wish her all the best for the future at the Faculty.